2012 Heroes Dinner

Wednesday, 2 May 2012 6:30 pm

Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium
1301 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC

View Map

For tickets or sponsorship opportunities:
Contact Jackie Vandermeersch at 
240-694-2209 or jvandermeersch@hjf.org


National Security Correspondent
Fox News



David J. McIntyre, Jr.
President & CEO
TriWest Healthcare Alliance

Advisory Committee

  • Vice Admiral Michael L. Cowan, MD, USN (Ret)

    Former Surgeon General, United States Navy

  • The Honorable James B. Peake MD, LTG USA (Ret)

    Former United States Secretary of Veterans Affairs

    Former Surgeon General, United States Army

  • Lieutenant General James G. Roudebush, MD, MPH, USAF (Ret)

    Former Surgeon General, United States Air Force

Leadership Committee

  • Dr. Cristina Beato Chief Medical Officer for Federal Services Ernst & Young
  • Kenneth Bonner Senior Director, Military Health Business Development General Dynamics Information Technology
  • William Cahill Express Scripts
  • Rick Campanelli Director, Government Affairs Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Cheryl Campbell Vice President CGI Federal
  • Scott Celley Vice President, External Affairs TriWest Healthcare Alliance
  • Steve Comber Senior Vice President SAIC
  • Jack Dadlani Director of Business Development Strategic Resources, Inc.
  • Dr. Mark Dente Chief Medical Informatics Officer GE Healthcare IT
  • Andrea Inserra Vice President Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Gillian Jaeger Principal Capitol Consulting Group
  • Brent Jaquet Senior Vice President Cavarocchi Ruscio Dennis Associates
  • Tracy Malone Executive Director US Family Health Plan Alliance
  • Dr. Kelly McVearry Senior Scientific Advisor Northrop Grumman
  • Amanda Miller Sr. Director Prosthetics and Strategic Accounts Ossur
  • Dr. Ron Moody Director, Clinical Systems & Development Agilex
  • Al Poteet Sr. Consultant Government Business Development Highmark
  • Sam Scott Managing Director HealthTech Solutions, LLC
  • Dr. Stephen Scroggs Executive Vice President, Government Affairs and Development Value Options
  • Jim Walsh Senior Vice President, Government Sector McKesson Corporation
  • Joan Walter COO and VP, Military Medical Research The Samueli Institute
  • Cathy Wessel Director of Business Development Humana Military Healthcare Services
  • Bryan Woolsey Senior Director, Medical Programs MacAulay-Brown, Inc.
  • Ed Wyatt President EWyatt Consulting, LLC

2012 Heroes of Military Medicine Awards

Wednesday, 2 May 2012 6:30 pm

The Center for Public-Private Partnerships at The Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine, Inc. is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2012 Heroes of Military Medicine awards. These individuals have distinguished themselves through excellence and selfless dedication to advancing medicine for our nation’s wounded, ill and injured Service Members, Veterans and their Families.


Chairman Praises ‘Heroes of Military Medicine’

USASOC Surgeon: Hero of Military Medicine

Wichitan Receives Military Medicine Award

GEN Dempsey Attends the Military Medical Awards Dinner

Orthopaedic Surgeon: National Hero of Military Medicine


General James F. Amos, USMC

Colonel Russ S. Kotwal, MD, MPH, USA

HM2 Lamonte T. Hammond, SW, FMF, USN


Keynote Speaker

Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

2012 Honorees

Lifetime Achievement Award

Throughout his service on the Appropriations Committee, Representative Young has been committed to improving the quality of life of the men and women who serve and who have served in the military. CP3 is proud to recognize Representative Young for his ongoing work with our Lifetime Achievement Award.

Line Leader Hero of Military Medicine

General James F. Amos, Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps, will receive the Hero of Military Medicine Line Leader Award. Amos has held command at all levels from lieutenant colonel to lieutenant general and is a champion of research into the seen and unseen wounds of war, including traumatic brain injury, posttraumatic stress and prosthetics. As a strong advocate for civilian and military partnerships, he has supported the advancement medical military medicine and care for men and women in uniform.

Hero of Military Medicine

COL Kotwal is recognized for wide-ranging excellence in military medicine. He has spearheaded several life-saving initiatives within the Special Operations medical community, including the Pre-Hospital Trauma Registry. He is a long-standing committee member of the DoD Defense Health Board committee on tactical combat casualty care, where he provides national-level guidance as an expert in his field.

Hero of Military Medicine

In support of Operation Enduring Freedom in the summer of 2011, Major Nott was the sole orthopedic surgeon for more than 100 days within 100 miles of his location. He oversaw care for more than 130 patients and performed 19 complicated surgical procedures. He also greatly improved collaboration at the remote site with international teams using his fluent Spanish.

He was instrumental in improving his team’s clinical and trauma skills while leading the reassignment of his Special Operations Surgical Team Special Operations Critical Care Evacuation Team to the St. Louis University Hospital. At the U.S. Air Force installation, Hurlburt Field, Nott trained special operations medics in musculoskeletal examination and injections.

Hero of Military Medicine

Lamonte Hammond is being honored as a Hero of Military Medicine for placing himself between a Marine and enemy fire in order to administer medical aid. After evacuating the Marine, Hammond returned to the front where he retrieved another fallen Marine. Hammond also led a mounted operation to a canal crossing the next day where he displayed continuing outstanding medical and emergency proficiency in the midst of an intense and sustained firefight.


HJF and CP3 sincerely thank the generous sponsors who have made this evening possible for their commitment to both military medicine and the heroes who advance it.

See our sponsors