2011 Heroes Dinner

Wednesday, 4 May 2011 6:30 pm

National Museum of Women in the Arts
1250 New York Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20005

View Map

For tickets or sponsorship opportunities:
Contact Jackie Vandermeersch at 
240-694-2209 or jvandermeersch@hjf.org


Chief Medical Editor
NBC News



Vice Admiral Michael L. Cowan, MD, USN (Ret)

Advisory Committee

  • Walter Havenstein CEO SAIC
  • Philip Odeen Chairman, Council of Directors Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine
  • The Honorable James B. Peake MD, LTG USA (Ret)

    Former United States Secretary of Veterans Affairs

    Former Surgeon General, United States Army

  • Lieutenant General James G. Roudebush, MD, MPH, USAF (Ret)

    Former Surgeon General, United States Air Force

Leadership Committee

  • Dr. Ronald Blanck Martin, Blanck & Associates
  • William Cahill Express Scripts
  • Tom Carrato Health Net
  • Dr. John D. Evans Lockheed Martin
  • Ken Fisher Fisher House Foundation
  • The Honorable P.T. Henry Delta Dental
  • Mike Jones General Dynamics Information Technology
  • Dr. Kelly McVearry Senior Scientific Advisor Northrop Grumman
  • Amanda Miller Sr. Director Prosthetics and Strategic Accounts Ossur
  • Marge and Phil Odeen
  • Robin Portman Booz Allen Hamilton
  • The Honorable Anthony J. Principi QTC Medical Services, Inc.
  • George Schindler CGI
  • Dr. Jackson Streeter Banyan Biomarkers
  • Cathy Wessel Director of Business Development Humana Military Healthcare Services

2011 Heroes of Military Medicine Awards

Wednesday, 4 May 2011 6:30 pm

The Center for Public-Private Partnerships at The Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine, Inc. is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2011 Heroes of Military Medicine awards. These individuals have distinguished themselves through excellence and selfless dedication to advancing medicine for our nation’s wounded, ill and injured Service Members, Veterans and their Families.




Vice Chief Gets "Hero of Medicine" Award

Neurosurgeon: Wars in Iraq, Afghanistan Forced Adjustments at Home

Henry M. Jackson Foundation to Honor Heroes of Military Medicine


Keynote Speaker

Director, US Army Wounded Warrior Program

2011 Honorees

Lifetime Achievement Award

As Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee and the Senate Defense Appropriations Subcommittee, Senator Inouye has been able to focus on defense matters that strengthen national security, and enhance quality of life for military personnel and their families. CP3 is proud to recognize Senator Inouye for his ongoing work with our Lifetime Achievement Award.

Line Leader Hero of Military Medicine

CP3 has awarded General Peter W. Chiarelli the Line Leader Award for his high-level dedication to the advancement of military medicine.

Hero of Military Medicine

The HJF Hero of Military Medicine is presented to COL Rocco A. Armondo, MD, USA for providing leading-edge care on the battlefield and at home and his commitment to ensuring that wounded, ill and injured service members achieve the best possible outcomes.

Hero of Military Medicine

For serving as a critical resource for veterans and active-duty troops in dire need of help. The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, and the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline operate the hotline.


HJF and CP3 sincerely thank the generous sponsors who have made this evening possible for their commitment to both military medicine and the heroes who advance it.

See our sponsors